X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Legal Analysis of What is Going on with FBI/DOJ Investigations

. . . Or, How Federal Prosecutors and the FBI are Seeking to Transform NCAA Violations Into Criminal Misconduct

As some of you may know, my day job is being a litigator in Manhattan. I don't do criminal work; but I know the reputation of the U.S. Attorneys' Office for the Southern District of New York, and have dealt with that office in civil cases.

It is an office well-known for taking on high profile cases. Indeed, no prosecutor's office in the world is more renown on that score. The Southern District has a well-earned reputation for pushing novel legal theories in order to secure high profile convictions. The prosecutors who work in that Office ultimately, after they have made their bones, tend to graduate to positions as high-paid partners at prestigious law firms.

PART ONE: THE CHARGE

The central federal statute that the defendants in these cases have been charged with violating is 18 U.S.C. § 666. For your convenience, I will paste the full text of the statute below:

(a)Whoever, if the circumstance described in subsection (b) of this section exists—
    (1)being an agent of an organization, or of a State, local, or Indian tribal government, or any agency thereof—
    (A)embezzles, steals, obtains by fraud, or otherwise without authority knowingly converts to the use of any person other than the rightful owner or intentionally misapplies, property that—
    (i) is valued at $5,000 or more, and
    (ii) is owned by, or is under the care, custody, or control of such organization, government, or agency; or
    (B) corruptly solicits or demands for the benefit of any person, or accepts or agrees to accept, anything of value from any person, intending to be influenced or rewarded in connection with any business, transaction, or series of transactions of such organization, government, or agency involving any thing of value of $5,000 or more; or