X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This Team is SOFT!!

I've been attending USC basketball games since 1973 from the old Sports Arena days. This team is in all likelihood the most disappointing team that I think I can ever remember. Coming into this season I was hoping for a Clancy/Bluthenthal/Glanville type of hurrah senior season. Sadly, this is a pipe dream at this point.

Several notes about this team that absolutely drive me nuts every time I watch them.
    1. I'm sorry to say this but this team is soft - both physically and mentally. They seem timid whenever confronted by any team that plays with any aggression. Unfortunately, this starts with the perimeter play. Whenever you see the opposing teams guards "D" up with physical play on our ball handlers, this team goes into shut down mode. They stop driving the lanes, aggressively attacking the hoop, and settle for questionable or ill advised jump shots. It's like they act like bullied kids who have no heart. It's disgusting that we let other teams push us around like this.
    2. Our defensive rebounding SUCKS (w/ all due to respect to Nick R)! We've got some of the laziest bigs when it comes to boxing out their man and squaring up to grab a rebound. Of course, this seems to be symptomatic of our team as a whole - i.e. lacking basic fundamentals (primarily defensively) which are coached to most kids when they're in grade school. Seriously, we are beyond bad in this category and I yell at my TV every time I see this. When are the coaches going to address this? It's been a glaring problem for so long and it's not getting any better. Seriously, what's going on here?